Skip to content

Greenland and the Faroe Islands

Below you can find more information about Greenland and the Faroe Islands 

When talking about Denmark we normally refer to Jutland, Zealand, Funen, Bornholm and the remaining islands scattered around in Danish territorial waters.

However, the Kingdom of Denmark also encompasses the Faroe Islands and the island of Greenland, both located in the North Atlantic Ocean. Greenland and the Faroe Islands have been part of the Kingdom of Denmark since the 14th century.

Each area is distinctive in history, language, and culture. Home rule was granted to the Faroes in 1948 and to Greenland in 1979, with foreign policy and defense remaining under Danish control.